Recently, with the approval of the Hong Kong SAR Government, Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited (“Cyberport”) officially appointed Mr. Calvin Choi as a member of the Cyberport Advisory Panel to provide strategic advice for the development of Cyberport. Following the formal appointment by Mr. Lee Ka-chiu, Secretary for Security of the Hong Kong SAR Government to be a member of the Prisoners’ Education Trust Fund Investment Advisory Committee of Hong Kong SAR earlier this month, Mr. Calvin Choi was again appointed by the Hong Kong SAR Government for public office.

Cyberport is wholly owned by the Hong Kong SAR Government, with a vision to be the hub for digital technology thereby creating a new economic driver for Hong Kong. Cyberport is committed to nurturing a vibrant tech ecosystem by cultivating talent, promoting entrepreneurship among youth, supporting start-ups on their growth journey, fostering industry development by promoting strategic collaboration with local and international partners, and integrating new and traditional economies by accelerating digital adoption in the public and private sectors. Cyberport focuses on fostering the growth of major technologies application namely FinTech, smart living, digital entertainment & esports, as well as technology development such as artificial intelligence (AI) & big data, blockchain and cybersecurity. Cyberport is the flagship for Hong Kong’s digital tech industry.

The Cyberport Advisory Panel (CAP) was established in the second half of 2017 for the purpose to gather input and advice in regards to all matters related to the strategic direction and development of Cyberport. CAP consists of top-calibre leaders and renowned personalities with rich experience from the technology, investment, media, academic and corporate sectors as well as the community. The Chairman of the Board of Directors of Cyberport chairs the Cyberport Advisory Panel. The members of CAP include industry leaders in finance, economics and technology at home and abroad: Carlson Tong, Chairman of the University Grants Committee and former Chairman of the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”), Anna Wu, current and founding chair of the Competition Commission and a former member of the Executive Council, Neil Shen, Global Managing Partner of Sequoia Capital, Daryl Ng, Deputy Chairman of the Sino Group, Janet Wong, the former Commissioner of the Innovation and Technology Commission of the Hong Kong SAR, Francis Yuen, former chief executive of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, deputy chairman of the Pacific Century Group, member of the board of trustees of University of Chicago and Fudan University in Shanghai, Clifford Chiu, a retired partner at KKR in the Asia Pacific region, serving on the global advisory board of the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, Simon Leung, former CEO of Motorola Asia Pacific Limited, former Chairman and CEO of Microsoft’s Greater China Region, Teresa Ko, the first female to have chaired the HKSE’s Listing Committee, Freshfield’s China Chairman and Senior Partner, Francis Leung, “Father of Red Chips”, Chairman of AMTD’s Global Advisory Committee, Peter William Mathieson, Principal of the University of Edinburgh, former President of the University of Hong Kong.

Mr. Calvin Choi and Dr. George Lam, Chairman of Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited

Leave a Reply

two × 5 =